The laws that govern child support and custody are complicated, but the best interests of the children are always the primary concern. Although there is no one-size-fits-all approach to time-sharing arrangements or child support orders, there are some generalities that many Florida parents can expect to face.
For example, paying child support is a common requirement for many divorced parents. The purpose of child support is to ensure that the children maintain a similar standard of living at both of their parents’ homes. If one parent makes significantly more than the other, then the higher earner might have to pay child support.
If you have questions about child support or custody in Florida, contact The Law Offices of Michael M. Raheb, P.A. Mr. Raheb offers free consultations for all potential clients.
Call 866-949-0888 today to discuss your case with a child custody lawyer in Naples. You can also learn more about child custody laws in Florida by visiting USAttorneys.com.
Can I Refuse Visitation If My Ex Fails to Pay Child Support?
In the state of Florida, parents have certain rights, regardless of whether they are current on their child support obligations. If your ex has failed to make child support payments on time, you have options, but refusing visitation is not one of them.
In order to ensure that you receive assistance from the state with enforcing a child support order, you need to register the court order. Once you have done so, the state of Florida will attempt to facilitate on-time payments in the full amount. If you currently receive public benefits, you may have already registered with the Florida Department of Revenue.
What Are the Penalties If My Ex Fails to Pay Child Support?
In the state of Florida, employers collect more than 70 percent of all child support through income withholding. That means the payment comes directly out of your ex’s paycheck before he or she even has access to it. This helps ensure that parents rarely fall behind with payments.
In the event that a parent does fall behind, there are a variety of ways that the state can ensure children get the financial support they need. For example, once a child support payment is more than 30 days late, you can report the debt to a credit agency. This will affect your ex’s credit score and his or her ability to obtain financing.
The state can also deny driver’s license renewal or suspend an active license for parents who have failed to meet child support obligations. If the parent owes more than $600 in past-due payments, the state may even place a lien on a car or boat that he or she owns, according to FloridaRevenue.com.
If you have questions regarding child support or custody arrangements in Florida, turn to The Law Offices of Michael M. Raheb, P.A. Mr. Raheb is a child custody lawyer who will help you avoid making costly mistakes that could compromise your interests. Call 866-949-0888 to discuss your situation with a Naples child custody attorney today.