People Often Ask A DUI Attorney
When you are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), it is not uncommon to feel confused, frightened and uncertain about what will happen next. A DUI is a very serious charge and should not be taken lightly.
There are many things you can expect after an arrest, including an investigation, a trial, the sentencing and possibly an appeal. Through all of this, you will want to have someone on your side that can help you prepare for each step and give you the best chance of a reduced penalty.
At the Law Offices of Michael M. Raheb, P.A., we are dedicated to supporting Fort Myers residents and representing their best interests in court. We will help you gather evidence, prepare for trial and plan motions, and we will represent you during your court appearance. To schedule a free consultation, Call Us At 866-949-0888 Today!
1. Can I Refuse A Breathalyzer Test?
Every state has a different set of laws regarding a person’s right to refuse a breathalyzer. In Florida, when you sign your driver’s license, you are consenting to any tests that are required by a law enforcement officer. That said, you do have the right to refuse a test, but you can face increased penalties for doing so. A refusal to submit to a breathalyzer can be used against you in court by the prosecution.
2. When Is A DUI Considered A Felony?
If it is your first DUI arrest, then you are most likely only facing a misdemeanor. If you cause an injury to another driver or pedestrian, however, then you could be charged with a felony. Most felony DUI charges are reserved for repeat offenders with more than two prior charges.
3. My License Was Revoked, But I Need To Drive For Work. Can I Get It Back?
It is common to have your license revoked after a DUI arrest. In Florida, driving is considered a privilege and not a right. If you refuse a breathalyzer test, your license will be revoked immediately for one year. Other revocations can last anywhere from 180 days to a few years. However, Florida does understand that many people depend on their car to earn a living, so they do issue hardship licenses in some cases. Before you can apply for a hardship license, you will need to complete DUI school.
4. It Is My First DUI. What Repercussions Will I Be Facing?
The possible penalties vary. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles advises that you may be charged a fine of between $500 and $1,000. If your blood alcohol level (BAL) is over .15, the maximum fine is increased to $2,000. You could also be sentenced to community service, probation or jail time.
The severity of the punishment often depends on the quality of your legal representation. At The Law Offices of Michael M. Raheb, P.A., we have more than 15 years of experience, and we will work hard to protect your interests in the courtroom. To discuss your case, Call Us At 866-949-0888 Today!